Copper pipes

Remodeling a bathroom usually involves the plumbing. Older homes have copper pipes, which can sometimes present a problem…

A couple days ago, after removing a bathroom’s vinyl flooring, I needed to reroute a copper pipe. This was a challenge, since the pipe was inside the concrete slab. I chipped the concrete above and around the pipe, approximately 2-1/2 inches in diameter. I did not want to make too big of a hole. However, as I began soldering, I saw that the solder was dripping off. The concrete was still too close to the pipe and was keeping the pipe too cold for the solder to stick. So, I chipped away a little more concrete and tried again. Nope.  I continued chipping away more concrete from the copper in small increments until the solder stuck beautifully. As a result, I had a bigger hole to repair, but the copper pipe was soldered and rerouted properly…Luckily, I made it home in time for my birthday dinner.

Leave a Reply

